Dr. Stephen J Monnig MD

  • Urology
25 Years Experience

Share your Experience

3.2
31 patient ratings,
6 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    42%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 10.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5.0 October 31st, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Debbie scheduled my appointment, very friendly"
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor was friendly and made me feel comfortable

Positive Comments

Awesome doctor with an superior staff I would definatly recomend him
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2.0 March 20th, 2017
Went to see Dr Monnig for urinary incontinence. Had urinary urgency & frequency issues Dr Monnig asked me a few questions concerning my issues & did a urine test. He recommended having a procedure without giving me Urodynamic testing.Walking out of his office,I felt like my issues had not been thoroughly examined.I went to see another urologist for a 2nd opinion who recommended the Urodynamic testing.This gave me a thorough scope of my issues and helped in determining what procedure was needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 8th, 2012
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Very professional and discreet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 December 24th, 2014
I had a partial nephrectomy on my left kidney he didn't explain in detail at all what was going to be done to me or what to expect afterwards! I feel like ive been gutted alive! He did not in any way prepare me for this traumatic huge surgery! I am still recouporating my 6 inch cit above my belly button which he said would ony be 2 inches! The stiches are puckered and crooked and im still healing only 20 days out of surgery and I was so sick I almost threw up in his office on my two week check up: which was him just glancing at my wounds and saying your fine its healing well he never put gloves on or felt how hard my stomach now is. I was very hurt with his lack of any empathy or bedside manner! This man shound not be a surfeon not alone a Dr!!!!!! He mutilated my body and left me to suffern I wont even have a Christmas this yr because they dont believe you actually may be in pain from a hand assistedlaproscopic surgery which means reaching tthrough the largest hole above my belly button. This is sn excruciating painful surgery and even worse recovery. I suggest doing alot of research before you go under the knife I made the mistake of trusting him which on my end turned out absolutely horrible! !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4.0 April 10th, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 March 20th, 2017
Would not recommend this doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

none

Negative Comments

Went to see Dr Monnig for urinary incontinence. Had urinary urgency & frequency issues Dr Monnig asked me a few questions concerning my issues & did a urine test. He recommended having a procedure without giving me Urodynamic testing.Walking out of his office,I felt like my issues had not been thoroughly examined.I went to see another urologist for a 2nd opinion who recommended the Urodynamic testing.This gave me a thorough scope of my issues and helped in determining what procedure was needed.

General Comments

none
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 27th, 2014
Stay away from Dr. Stephen Monnig!!!
Wait time
45 minutes
"i waited 45 mins to see him and he only gave me 10 mins of his time."
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"the staff was friendly and tried to rectify the situation but unfortunately the doctor made me feel so bad about myself that I will never go back there. "
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"The doctor only wanted to teat the symptoms which unfortunately isn't usually covered by insurance. Instead of getting to the root of the problem. "
Spends Time with Patients
"the doctor spent only 10 mins with me on my initial visit"
Appropriate Follow-up
"I was told i would be receiving a call from the head of Lexington Clinic to get more information about my visit but unfortunately they still have not returned my call."
I do not doubt that this doctor could be a good doctor but unfortunately, he has very little bed side manners and repeatedly told me how he needed to get to his next patient which was surgery, so obviously that patient was more important than me. Even though i waited 45 mins in his office to see him and he saw me for 10 mins on my initial visit.

Positive Comments

the only positive is that the staffing tried to rectify the situation but unfortunately i was to emotionally upset for the experience that I will not go back. actions speak louder than words.

Negative Comments

I feel that the doctor is more interested in making money than helping patients. In my office visit at least 3 times he told me how he needed to get to his next patient which was surgery. Obviously my office visit would not compare to the amount of money he was set to make from the surgery. I waited 45 minutes in his office, he saw me for 10 minutes and after he looked at my medical history he gave me very little options and made me feel like less than a man. I feel he needs a class in sensitivity training especially when dealing with male patients suffering from ED.

General Comments

request a different doctor if suffering from ED
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 5th, 2013
Message to all Women
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I want to get this message out to all women. I have read a lot of blogs, written by women who are having problems, or went through some unnecessary surgery, and still having problems. Five years ago my bladder which had already dropped, the muscle broke and it then exited my body. In an effort to get help, I visited six urologists as my condition worsened. My primary caretaker recommended Dr. Monnig the best of the best he said my first visit I knew I was now in the hands of a doctor that I could trust completely. TRUST that I needed to discuss my concerns, and ask questions which before had not been provided in my visits to the other urologists. I truly believed I was facing a hell of all hells as more problems developed. Dr. Monnig put my bladder in a sling using cadaver tissue which my body couldnt reject because the androgens had been removed. I recovered quick and rapid, he had given me back a lot of years, that I had lost due to the fact that my bladder was down a very long time before it was completely out. I have and always will recommend Dr. Monnig at the Lexington Clinic, to anyone who has urological problems children included. Everyone deserves the best of the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No