Dr. Scott K Mayhew MD

  • Pain Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
18 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.1
48 patient ratings,
22 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    71%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 of 32 reviews

5.0 February 19th, 2016
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

A caring Dr., would highly recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 21st, 2015
dr. Mayhew Great Physician
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Mayhew has treated me for severe back. He will take the time to discuss your issues and provide the best possible treatment. If you are just looking for pain pills he is not your guy. Appropriate treatment will be given. I pray you get the relief he has provided me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 8th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Mayhew is very interested in finding the most effective way to relieve your pain.

General Comments

Most competent and caring doctor. I would recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 15th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I was examined by Dr Mayhew during a recent medical problem, he is very professional and caring. After his diagnosis, the Dr contacted the hospital which made the admission process very easy
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 9th, 2012
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr Mayhew was very good. I feel much better since seeing him. His staff is very nice including his assistant Sara.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 23rd, 2016
Professional and Well Informed
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very knowledgeable and takes the time to discuss your condition in detail. The procedure he performed for me was far less painful than I expected. He took his time and explained everything along the way.

Positive Comments

Felt comfortable with him

Negative Comments

none
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 27th, 2015
I searched and consulted with several Drs. Before choosing Dr. Scott Mayhew. He has proven to be exceptional. This doctor genuinely cares. He is thorough, kind, and never fails to work with both my husband and I - should we have conflicting schedules. My pain was so great, I was unable to spend quality time with our grandchildren. Dr. Mayhew has given me back a life without pain. Just visit Dr. Mayhew. You will not be disappointed. I feel so blessed to have found him. You will, also. He is a rarity. Sure don't feel like you are being run through a factory. Just can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 14th, 2015
Dr Scott Mayhew gives better than 5 star care. The epidural injections he gives are done so carefully and precisely under X-ray. He always gets right spot. He is so gentle you hardly feel it. He tries everything possible to help your pain. I have no trouble getting my pain medication I follow pain contract rules. I cannot believe I moved from Ma in Aug 2014 and found such a talented smart doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 9th, 2013
Excellent!!!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Mayhew is without a doubt, the most compassionate, knowledgeable, & patient Dr., I have ever encountered. He performed a procedure on my neck, explaining things to me every step of the way. He enters the exam room prepared, knows who he is talking to and ready to go over everything. I will not ever see anyone else for control of my pain.

General Comments

I highly recommend Dr. Mayhew to anyone to has chronic pain
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 23rd, 2013
I WAS IMPRESSED !
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

GAVE ME MY SHOTS EXACTLY .

Negative Comments

NOT AT THIS TIME

General Comments

VERY SATISFIED
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 23rd, 2016
Dr. Mayhew is a very kind Doctor He never makes me feel rushed and his Nurse is very sweet! He does not judge me in any way and his knowledge is endless! I highly recommend Dr. Mayhew!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 27th, 2016
Horrific and unacceptable
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Unfortunately after putting hope in yet another Dr. that this one would actually listen to me and treat me like a human being with respect and dignity and want to help me get to the root of the constant, horrific,crippling pain that has and is ruining my life....but yet again another Dr. who isn't abiding in the healing and helping oath every Dr. has to take. he thinks I enjoy being in agony and have no other aspirations for my life than to be incapacitated stuck in redundancy. I simply can't fathom his actions. Twice my appointments kept me waiting almost 2 hours. The last one after waiting he came in and in less than 3 minutes got up and left. I waited for him to come back to discuss other options for testing, have him feel the painful muscle spasm that was developing right then and there in my neck and shoulder and to ask him if the bone spurs, osteoporosis, stenois, kyphosis and everything else that was present on my last MRI 4 years ago was gone because he said everything looked "fine" . 20 minutes after he left me his nurse came in talking to me as if my appointment was over. Where'd the Dr. go? He just left and wouldnt come back to talk about the above mentioned because he was in with another patient. 2 hours for 3 minutes and no help. Not only that but he didn't give me anything for the kind of pain I'm in-nothing. He wanted to give me "mental" drugs like cymbalta . I'm sorry but this is unacceptable! Unacceptable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 October 11th, 2015
I have had chronic pain for 6 years and Dr. Mayhew has NO care or compassion! He is highly arrogant and condescending and be sure to never disagree or he will blackball so that no other Pain Mgt. Doctor will see you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 3rd, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I am thoroughly satisfied with Dr. Mayhew and his nurse. I was very well informed about procedures and options and I appreciated his honesty. His nurse is very friendly and very compassionate. I have been recommending his practice to everyone I know that has pain that is unmanaged.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 23rd, 2013
Patient
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I find Dr. Mayhew has a great bedside manner and he has a lot of patience with me.

General Comments

His nursing staff is excellent and personable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 4th, 2013
Dr.Mayhew help me so much good.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Promptness
"good"
good

Positive Comments

He is good

Negative Comments

good

General Comments

HE HELP ME
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 February 8th, 2016
Absolutely Horrible
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
"NO TIME AT ALL IN THE ROOM"
Appropriate Follow-up
My boyfriend has been experiencing extreme pain/swelling/numbness/muscle spasms in his arm for the past year. We have seen a handful of specialists ranging anywhere from neurosurgeons to shoulder specialists. We have been going to MUSC as well, and the doctor there told my boyfriend that until they could find out what was wrong with him, he needed to go to pain management. For the past year, the only thing that has helped him enough to be able to almost function normally has been pain medication and steroids. We were referred to Dr. Mayhew, and we have been nothing but disappointed. First off, between both appointments combined, be has maybe spent a total of 6 minutes in the room talking to my boyfriend. He's very quick to write a prescription for medication that isn't needed. At his most recent appointment, Dr. Mayhew came into the room, barely spoke other than to scold him for taking Lyrica despite the awful side effects he was experiencing. Dr. Mayhew literally left the room MID-SENTENCE and did not return. His nurse came in with two prescriptions: one being an anti-inflammatory that he has already taken that did nothing, and an ANTI-DEPRESSANT. Had Dr. Mayhew actually take the time to speak to my boyfriend, he would know that he has tried to take anti-depressants before and he had an extremely horrible reaction to them. Secondly, he made my boyfriend feel like he was making up his pain just to get pain medication. We both understand that doctors don't want to "blindly" write a narcotic prescription to someone, but after a YEAR of dealing with the same issues that are only getting worse, he is very obviously not making up his pain. When he is out of his medication, he usually lasts about two days before he has to go to the E.R. due to his arm being cold, swollen, extremely painful and unable to move. This doctor barely gave him a second of his time, and when we asked the nurse to have him come back in the room she let us know that wasn't going to happen because he had "already moved on to other patients." If you're looking for a doctor who is willing to take their time and understand your problems and work with you until you are able to figure out what is wrong, DO NOT go see him. Apparently if you're in pain and you go to pain management, you're nothing but a "drug seeker".
Was this review helpful? Yesxcuwaasbzdsx No
5.0 November 12th, 2015
Dr Mayhew has worked diligently with me to reduce the pain I have in my knees, hip and back. I would recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 7th, 2015
Dr mayhew is a wonderful doctor .....He sat me down&talked me through options and meds I could take....he is wonderful and I am very lucky to have found him
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 24th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Mayhew is one of the few doctors that takes the time to listen and offer options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 10th, 2013
I'm an R.N. and I put my healthcare in his hands.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
"Clean office, friendly and polite staff."
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayhew and Sara truly want to help. They are a professional, polite and compassionate team.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 9th, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 22nd, 2016
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
"At the longest"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 21st, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
"on average"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayhew and Matt have been very professional and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 16th, 2015
Dr. Scott Mayhew and his Nurse are very compassionate and understanding your pain. I would recommend this Doctor to anyone who needs pain management. I feel that I am receiving the best care for the pain I'm suffering from on a daily basis from Dr. Scott Mayhew.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 15th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mayhew is very professional and caring when dealing with me He's knowledgeable and compassionate & works really hard to get his patients better however he can. I gladly recommend my friends and family see Dr. Mayhew
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 17th, 2015
We are very happy with Dr Scott Mayhew,he is thorough,caring,compassionate and knowledgeable, my husband jimmy has many pain issues going on with his back and Dr. Mayhew has addressed them all and has given him relief, we also appreciate the time and patience Dr. Mayhews nurse Matt takes with us when we are there,We highly recommend seeing This Doctor at Carolina health Specialist if you have a need for pain management!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4.0 November 26th, 2013
Professional, interested and goal oriented
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayhew is very thorough and does not automatically renew medications. His goal is the same as mine in that less medication is the goal.

Positive Comments

Dr. Mayhew is not afraid to broach old and new treatments in order to maintain control of my pain. He listens to what I say and responds to those needs.

Negative Comments

None

General Comments

I highly recommend Dr. Mayhew for treating chronic pain. The office personnel are friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 23rd, 2013
Very Friendly
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Explained every thing in detail. Patient in answering questions. Likeable guy.

Negative Comments

None

General Comments

Would refer to everyone with back pain. Will definately go agaun when I need help with pain management.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 8th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
5 stars

Positive Comments

excellent choice
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2.0 February 19th, 2013
Treated me like a criminal
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not good at all

Negative Comments

I didn't like him from the first visit but I gave him the benefit of return visits. He treated me like I was an idiot and a drug seaking criminal. I wouldn't take my dog to him.

General Comments

Please don't waste your time on this doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 8th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Finally a doctor to sit and listen to me. His assistant is great, too. They've helped me a lot. I can highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No