Dr. Roger N Chams MD

  • Orthopaedic Surgery
26 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.2
69 patient ratings,
27 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    75%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Wait Time 26.0 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Easy Appointments
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5.0 August 16th, 2018
Thank you Dr. Chams and all of your great staff! You really saved me after an awful accident when doing downward facing dog on my deck without a yoga mat. That was an error on my part and the end result devastating with a dislocated shoulder, a rotator cu
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 5th, 2017
overall no better care available
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr Chams is a rock star when it comes to complicated shoulder problems. I saw 2 other doctors both of them wanted to open my shoulder in an attempt to fix it. Dr Chams fixed my shoulder with the scope instead. it feels perfect after 8 months.

General Comments

expect a little bit of wait on the follow ups it was certainly well worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 25th, 2015
DR. CHAMS - EXCELLENT SURGEON AND DOCTOR WHO DELIVERS SOLID RESULTS WITH COMPASSION FOR YOU, LOCAL ATHLETES AND NATIONAL TEAMS
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

DR. CHAMS - EXCELLENT SURGEON AND DOCTOR WHO DELIVERS SOLID RESULTS WITH COMPASSION FOR YOU, LOCAL ATHLETES AND NATIONAL TEAMS Dr. Chams is an excellent doctor and surgeon who repaired my damaged shoulder from a car accident where I was rear-ended by a commercial tow truck carrier. His great sports medicine and surgery skills helped me to regain my strength and range-of-motion. Compassionate and focused on your recovery. I've worked with many top sports doctors in my career so I have seen the best. I put Dr. Chams up there with the best orthopedic surgeons. Dr. Chams also went above and beyond the call of duty by fighting for me and supporting my efforts to get my medical bills paid from the insurance company of the responsible commercial truck driver. A ringing endorsement is that he has been a team physician for the National US Women's Soccer team as well as for North Shore schools. Highly recommend for your shoulder and knee injuries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 16th, 2018
I didn't think I would be able to do yoga or kayak again!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 16th, 2018
Dr. Chams performed arthroscopy on my knee 10 years ago. When I recently reinjured the knee, I was very grateful that Dr. Chams was still available to perform a second arthroscopy. I have had a great recovery and appreciate his level of follow-up and info
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 28th, 2017
Really know his stuff!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Even though I waited in the office, I didn't have to wait 2 weeks when I called to see Dr. Chams, I was able to come in within a day."
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Dr. Chams isn't a doctor who immediately jumps to expensive tests and surgery."
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
"I felt Dr. Chams was concerned about me getting back to my healthy lifestyle. He was delighted when I was doing better."

Positive Comments

Knows all the state of the art procedures and protocols.

Negative Comments

They are busy, because they are the best.

General Comments

It's tough to be injured, good to know where to go to get better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 10th, 2017
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Roger Chams is hands down the best orthopedic surgeon I could have asked for. After having three different shoulder repairs due to being a Varsity ice hockey player at New Trier, I would never even think twice about finding a new doctor. The staff members are beyond welcoming and Dr. Chams is a class act. I would not recommend any other surgeon to help me through my processes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 22nd, 2015
Shoulder replacement I didn't need, pain just as bad after surgery. Stay away from Illinois bone and joint. They pass you from one doctor to another.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 16th, 2018
I came to Dr. Chams for my second ACL surgery because he understood my drive to get back to 100% and worked with me to develop a plan to get there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 16th, 2018
Dr Chams repaired my left Rotator Cuff 7 years ago.He repaired the right last February. Would not trust anyone else to do the surgery. He, Paul, and staff have been wonderful both Pre and post surgery. Have referred him to family and friends in the past
Was this review helpful? Yes No