Dr. Ricardo J Fermo MD

  • Psychiatry
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Neurology

Share your Experience

4.2
42 patient ratings,
13 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    71%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 28.2 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5.0 December 20th, 2012
Seems to have more of an understanding of the illness than other psychiatrists.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

This is my 15 yr old daughter's 5th psychiatrist. She has early-onset bipolar disorder. I could tell immediately that Dr. Fermo had a different approach to treating patients than the other psychiatrists. He seems to understand the urgency of achieving stability. He acknowledges the fact that this disorder takes away the patient's entire childhood, and takes over the lives of anyone in the household (in our case, just her and me). Other psychiatrists should know, but do not seem to be able to wrap their brains around the fact that bipolar people are not badly behaved, and maybe having a somewhat harder time than normal people in forcing themselves to behave appropriately. Bipolar people act inappropriately when they are not stable because the very nature of the illness often causes them not to realize that their behavior is inappropriate for a given set of circumstances. Most of them are not bad people any more than any other average person. Later sometime when their brains are working a bit better, if they remember how they acted, they are often humiliated or wracked with guilt. They spend their lives torturing themselves, asking why they can't just realize what they're doing when they're acting poorly, and why they can't control it. It's a living hell. Dr. Fermo seems to comprehend the nature of the illness more than any other psychiatrist we have seen. Other psychiatrists add to the torture when they constantly pressure and lecture patients about things they just can't control, when the patients aren't even close to being stable. Dr. Fermo does not do this. I am hopeful for the first time in several years that we have real help, that I am not treating this by myself, and that the psychiatrist actually knows more than I do about the medications.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 September 13th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
"waited nearly 2 hours"
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"don't know, didn't feel he spent enough time with my child to know what her problem might be"
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

office staff not helpful, Dr. Fermo bashed other psychiatrists, drove 2.5 hours to get there, waited nearly 2 hours and he spent 15 minutes with my child...did no assessments but gave her medication based on what I contributed
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 25th, 2017
Awesome Doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

He ask many questions, and will find the best result to help in your diagnosis to get you better. .

Negative Comments

None
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 15th, 2015
I have seen Dr. Fermo about 35 times over a number of years. I have many criticisms one of which is his poor communication skills. He prefers to sit behind the computer and say as little as possible. He tries to get you out of the office as quickly as he can too. The final straw for me was when that I read in the Post and Courier that he receives annually in excess of 100K from drug companies. I then remembered his GRIMACE and him shaking his head when I reported side effects and not wanting to take a medication. I do believe he has a conflict of interest trying to satisfy the wishes of drug companies. Your precious time, money, and energy is better served seeing another psychiatrist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 28th, 2013
In Too Much of a Hurry - Doesn't Remember Treatment Course From One Visit to the Next
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Awful - very difficult to get an appointment when needed to be seen."
Promptness
"Pack a lunch - the wait time is typically well over an hour."
Friendly Staff
"Most unprofessional."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Never."
Spends Time with Patients
"He is not focused and seems very distracted."
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

I will never recommend Dr. Fermo or his practice to anyone. One of the most negative physician experiences I've ever had.

General Comments

I switched to Dr. Fermo on the advice of another physician and it was the worst mistake I ever made in my life. Not only is his office staff horribly inefficient at returning calls and calling in refills of needed medication, Dr. Fermo spends little to no time trying to get to the cause of your issue. His answer is to prescribe more medication - increase the dosage. Thankfully I escaped and found another physician. Her first question was "who put you on such a high dosage of this medication?" As soon as I mentioned Dr. Fermo's name, she raised her eyebrows. That said it all to me. Be very wary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 November 25th, 2013
GO SOMEWHERE ELSE
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
"45 minutes was shortest wait. 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes average. Have waited 2 hours more than once. HE'S NOT WORTH IT. I AM STUPID TO HAVE KEPT COMING HERE SO LONG."
Friendly Staff
"FRONT STAFF IS RUDE AND INDIFFERENT. WILL IGNORE YOU, NEVER SMILE OR GREET YOU. NEVER ONCE INTRODUCED THEMSELVES. DO NOT WEAR NAMETAGS."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
"Spends more time looking at his computer than talking to the patient. Must make poor notes because repeats incorrect information back to patient at next appointment."
Appropriate Follow-up
"They (he) do not care. If you don't make an appointment and fall off the face of the earth tomorrow, it will NOT be noticed by this office."
I wish I read the reviews on other sites and this one. I have waited 2 hours past my appointment time to see Dr. Fermo. The average wait time for me is 45 minutes. I've seen him for over a year so I feel I have good basis for giving a review. I also tried seeing one of the counselors in the office - tried that 3 or 4 times - she was super late 2 times (walked in with her coffee though, than goodness she had priorities straight) and talked WAY WAY too much! I never got to say anything! And all she had to say was the EXACT same crap all the other cognitive behavioral therapists say - you might as well buy a book or a robot that says those things - NO PERSONAL TOUCH and NO LISTENING whatsoever. At one point some staff person I had never met or seen before asked me for a drug test for "compliance"... WHAT?? For being on anti depressants - seriously? and then told me the ambien I take is a stimulant.... how stupid are these are people?Feel lied to by the staff who is also rude and indifferent. Dr Fermo spends way more time during appointment looking at his computer than talking to the patient. The office staff (as mentioned above is stupid), RUDE and indifferent. STAY FAR AWAY!

Positive Comments

NONE

Negative Comments

LONG WAITS, INDIFFERENCE

General Comments

I'm sure you could get his attention if you talked about Ferraris. He apparently loves Ferraris.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 December 18th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is too distracted did not appear to listen to me at all
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 August 10th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"friendly but not professional"
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
"never got phone calls back when requested"
Was this review helpful? Yes No