Dr. Phillip Langer MD

  • Sports Medicine
  • Orthopedic Surgery
16 Years Experience

Share your Experience

2.5
17 patient ratings,
15 comments

Have you seen Dr. Phillip Langer?

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    35%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    59%
  • Wait Time 45.0 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 of 15 reviews

1.0 March 25th, 2016
RUN
Run
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 23rd, 2014
I have been in the medical industry for over 20 years, working with the best Doctors/Surgeons in the world. Dr. Langer is considered one of the top 4 FAI/CAM surgeons in the US. He has preformed this procedure on myself with outstanding results. PLEASE NOTE, there are only a few doctors that can do this surgery so many ortho's tell patients they don't need the surgery, 10 years later, hip replacement. This can be avoided by having surgery to stop and repair damage eliminating the need for hip replacement. I highly recommend Dr. Langer as he understands the longterm problems that will arise if repair of the labrum and removal of CAM lesions are not done at first signs of damage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 June 11th, 2016
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Would not recommend

Negative Comments

My experience as a patient of Langers was terrible. During my first appt, I was instructed to sit and watch a video on his phone (he was the "star" actor) about him and his surgical skills. I should have left his office then. However, stupid me I didn't and proceeded with the surgery he recommended. I am still paying for that 3 years later. Google labral repairs...he is NOT one of the top 4 Dr's in the Nation as another "reviewer" previously stated. Do yourself a favor-get a second opinion before letting Langer operate on you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 16th, 2014
Dr. Langer has always been very professional and seems to care about me. I have recommended a lot of friends and family to go see him.BC
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 June 29th, 2016
Terrible. Don't go. I wish he never touched me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 March 2nd, 2016
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

Unprofessional, violated HIPPA multiple times while gloating about celebrity surgeries, completely out of touch with his patients. Talks fast for about 17 minutes and then walks out of the room and tells you his assistant (who seem inexperienced) can answer anything he didn't. Staff is also extremely unprofessional, putting patients ON SPEAKERPHONE AND LAUGHING AT THEM in such a way that anyone in the office could here. Not having him perform my surgery was the best decision I made for my health.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2.0 May 2nd, 2014
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

HE is very rude and interpupts you when you are trying to explain what is going on after your surgery.and lies on the doctors notes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 September 5th, 2013
Don't walk from this Dr... RUN
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I originally went to Dr. Langer for hip pain on both sides and he recommended bilateral hip surgery (which I was weeks from going through with) because of supposed pinched CAMs/torn labrums. I'm SO glad I got a second a third opinion. When going through my medical records with the doctors giving the other opinions, I learned from reviewing the notes with them that he had blatantly lied in the notes concerning 2 major points 1) there were notes of conversations we NEVER had concerning my complaints (i.e. that I was complaining of depression?(which I don't have), the pain had been going on for years (when it had been a couple of months), etc.), but more importantly 2) that my MRI results confirmed his diagnosis when in fact is was the EXACT OPPOSITE; the Dr who performed the MRI and opined on the findings clearly said I did not have torn labrums or pinching CAMS, which was the basis for the surgeries. On top of those 2 unforgivable items, I also learned from my PT today (outside of the practice) that this is NOT the first time she's heard the exact same story concerning this Dr (in fact, there are some former patients that are working now on trying to get his license pulled for recommending unnecessary surgery to them, some of whom went through with it). And one of the other Drs that I saw for one of the other opinions knew him and said that "he never met a patient that he didn't recommend surgery for." The whole practice is untrustworthy (none of these Drs that are still there have ever treated any of the Falcons players, despite what their marketing says), and the good Drs who used to be in the practice left because of unethical practices such as this. GO SEE ANOTHER DR!!!

Positive Comments

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Negative Comments

RECOMMENDED SURGERY FOR A CONDITION I DIDN'T HAVE AND LIED ABOUT IT IN HIS NOTES!!!

General Comments

GO SEE ANOTHER DR. THIS GUY OPERATES FOR THE MONEY.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 August 7th, 2015
Dr. Langer "fixed" my hip labels tissue. 3 mints post op pain was worse than before. I went back in to see him. No further exam or diagnosing done. He patted me on the back and said, "You will be ok". 6 months later I had a total hip replacement. He created more trouble and didn't care to address my issue. STAY AWAY!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 June 15th, 2015
Stay away from this doctor
Wait time
60 minutes
"Some waits were as long as more than TWO hours. "
Easy Appointment
"I had to wait more than a month to get an appointment and was told Langer was out of town and there was no one to fill in for him."
Promptness
"I've waited for more than 2 hours at times. Never had appointment on time."
Friendly Staff
"The staff is horrible. When they answer the phone, their attitude is that you are bothering them and they are doing you a favor to speak with you. "
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"10 months after surgery, I don't know exactly what he did. He told me one thing but the surgical notes tell different story. Some of Langer's notes say he discussed certain thing in detail with me and he, in fact, NEVER discussed with me."
Spends Time with Patients
"Count on about 2 to 5 minutes. He was very proud of himself when he announced at my follow up visit the morning after surgery that he had broken his record and completed the surgery in EIGHT minutes..."
Appropriate Follow-up
"Follow up was about a 2 minute office visit and then he was gone from the practice. "
Most likely, if you are one of the fortunate "rich and beautiful" he would treat you as a valued patient.

Positive Comments

None

Negative Comments

Too many to list

General Comments

Do your research and find another surgeon. This guy only cares about his social status and how much money he can make off you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 17th, 2014
The best sports medicine doctor in all of the United States! I came from Los Angeles to have my surgery done in Atlanta...that's how good this guy is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 July 7th, 2014
I agree, RUN from this dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 March 19th, 2016
Dr. Langer diagnosed me with FAI and performed hip arthroscopy. After surgery I was in debilitating pain and unable to walk. Six months later I had to have a total hip replacement. Two surgeons have since reviewed my records and confirmed I never had FAI, Langer shaved my femur in the wrong place and released muscles that should have never been touched. I have met five former patients of his who have had the same issues. Shortly after my surgery Dr. Langer vanished with no notice or contact info. Soon after, the practice (Atlanta Sports Medicine) went into foreclosure. Approximately one year later he re-appeared at Ortho Sport & Spine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 4th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Awsome Orthopedic Surgeon! I saw 5 different Orthopedic Doctors & all they wanted to do is cut me open 4 different times. None of those 5 Ortho Dr.'s even checked pass my elbow. Now Dr. Langer's bedside manner was professional. Did he stay in the room to coddle you, no. But that's what you parents are for. He diagnosed my problem correctly & did an Awsome job at repairing my shoulder and arm.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 16th, 2014
Excellent doctor. Cares about patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No