Dr. Paul Mackoul MD

  • Gynecologic Oncology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
28 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.9
74 patient ratings,
65 comments

Have you seen Dr. Paul Mackoul?

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    97%
  • Satisfied
    1%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Wait Time 13.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 25 - 36 of 68 reviews

5.0 December 31st, 2015
Everything was explained very well and everything went as explained. Everyone had been patient and very understanding. I knew exactly what to expect. The recovery was very easy. Beautiful facility, its definitely a great choice for surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 11th, 2015
My experience with CIGC was excellent. I highly recommend Dr. MacKoul!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 10th, 2015
The surgery and office visits were great! I have been sick with fibroid tumors for several years. This was a seemless process under Dr MacKoul.He and staff are informative and caring. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 16th, 2015
I was given the care that I had been needing for years. I was treated well by the staff and Dr. Mackoul. I do not know what I would have done or where I would have ended up if I had not found this doctor. I am from the midwest and I can tell you I could not find one doctor from my home area quite like Dr. Mackoul. If you are having serious female health problems please see this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 5th, 2015
Great, very informative!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Everything went great! Dr. Paul Mackoul and his staff were very compassionate about my needs. They were very informative as to what was going on with the surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4.0 January 28th, 2015
Wonderful experience with both the surgeon and the staff. Came highly recommended and I already referred others to him. Great practice!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 29th, 2014
Wonderful experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Surgery was scheduled in a timely manner and doctor was great. The staff was kind and responsive to my needs. Postop recovery was fast. I highly refer Dr. Mackoul!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 21st, 2013
Painless recovery & confidence in all
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKoul took time to educate me and empowered me to know how to care for myself better. Office staff & nurses are exceptional in knowledge, patience, efficiency, care. Postop was painless, had confidence in doctor & his team.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 27th, 2013
Great doctor & staff
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

The doctor was great in answering all my questions about my condition, options, treatment. The surgery was within schedule and all the staff was helpful, respectful, kind and professional. All my post surgery calls were answered promptly advising me on what I should do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 5th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Actual surgery was top-notch and recovery time was better than expected. Minimal pain and almost no scarring. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 9th, 2013
Wonderful!!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKouls skills are wonderful. He gives women options when they have been otherwise told they have none.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 29th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKoul and his team were very informative and thoughtful. I received a lot of help and information, both before and after surgery. I am very pleased with the results and extremely thankful for Dr. MacKouls expertise!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 17th, 2016
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Dr. MacKoul is a phenomenal surgeon. I dealt with fibroids for over 15 years and Dr. MacKoul relieved me of this condition in a 1.5-hour, minimally-invasive surgery. The recovery was very fast; I was driving in 5 days. I cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff and all who were involved with my care. I initially attempted to manage my situation through naturopathic means, so I was very healthy, but my body could not figure out how to get rid of fibroids that ultimately weighed over 9 pounds. I can say two things about my experience: 1) If you are suffering from enlarged fibroids and doctors in your area dont seem confident in what to do with you, seek out Dr. MacKoul. You will not be an anomaly to him. 2) Do your best to maintain your health diet, sleep, exercise, supplements, etc. as healthy lifestyle choices will help you recover optimally post-surgery. Dr. MacKouls surgical skill has given me a new lease on life. My experience has been life-changing. I wish you well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 19th, 2016
The entire staff made me feel comfortable and took real good care of me. I did not know what to expect and was nervous about a procedure of this magnitude, but the surgeon answered my questions and assured me that all will be well and I can resume a normal lifestyle. He explained to me and my caretakers what would happen before and after the procedure. Everyone was courteous, informative and respectful. I definitely recommend Dr. MacKoul.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 2nd, 2015
The whole staff was kind, caring, knowledgeable, and professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 17th, 2015
Dr.MacKoul and his ENTIRE team are awesome
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 6th, 2015
I was very please with the treatment and care I received from Dr. Mackoul. He was very patient and thorough with explaining the options available to me. He made a very tough decision easy to make. Very competent and helpful office and surgical staff. I would and have recommended him to family, friends and colleagues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 24th, 2014
Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. Thorough expertise of Dr. MacKoul and staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 4th, 2014
Excellent surgeon, highly qualified, and treats his patients with respect and courtesy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 8th, 2014
HAPPY!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Couldnt be happier! I felt like there was no question I was in top care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 23rd, 2014
Expert Dr
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Smaller and fewer incisions. Quick recovery. I felt confident and was assured that Dr. MacKoul is an expert in this procedure. Really appreciated extremely short wait time between initial visit and procedure (4-5 days).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 26th, 2014
Exemplary service
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The surgery allowed me a freedom to move forward with my life that would have otherwise been impossible. Dr. Mackoul's service is exemplary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 29th, 2013
One of a kind
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The doctor explained every aspect of my condition, it was like a perfect class, asked me questions about my concerns and listened to me like a person. I didn't have that for a long, long time. In the past I have been in many hospitals, visited many doctors and all of them treat you like you dont know anything . And the truth is we all are human, beings with experiences and different kind of knowledge and we understand what you explain to us.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 22nd, 2018
The Best in GYN surgery!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent Skilled Surgeon!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 May 12th, 2017
TERRIBLE DOCTOR! Wanted to perform an unnecessary surgery. He even get annoyed 30 minutes before the surgery with questions that I already answered. The post-op was terrible, very painful and I even get an infection (he did not prescribe me any antibiotics after the surgery)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 1st, 2016
Dr. McKoul is a great doctor. Since he did my surgery, I have not had any problems. I wish I had met him before all of my previous surgeries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 5th, 2016
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Mackoul and the staff at the Center for Innovative GYN Care. I had a very large, pedunculated fibroid (11 cm) located on the outside of my uterus. The fibroid started out small when first diagnosed years ago and my then OB/GYN suggested watchful waiting. While I had no pain or bleeding with this type of fibroid, I did, however, over this past year, notice that I was having some symptoms that included bloating, the appearance of a lump when laying down, and frequent urination. I heard about Dr. Mackoul while listening to WTOP on the way to work one morning. I contacted the Center and was able to get a consult appointment at the Annapolis office. Because I am 47 years old, and do not plan to have children, a hysterectomy was recommended, but leaving my one ovary. I was very nervous, but Dr. Mackoul was very reassuring and explained to me everything I needed to know. I had surgery at Holy Cross Hospital on 2/16/16. I came home that evening, took a pain pill to help me sleep that night. When I woke up the next morning, I couldnt believe how good I felt. I only used Motrin for the next two days and returned to work six days later on 2/22/16. You cant even tell where my incisions were! All I can say is my experience from beginning to end has been top notch. For women that are told they need invasive surgery, you MUST make an appointment with Dr. Mackoul. You will not regret it. He is amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 24th, 2016
Dr. Paul MacKoul treated me for a 19 pound fibroid, with a laparoscopic hysterectomy! With just a few small incisions, that are now nearly invisible, I had surgery on a Monday and was driving by the following Tuesday! I didn't need pain meds after just three days and was back to work in two weeks! The difference between this experience and my open myomectomy 12 years ago was startling. If I ever need GYN surgery again, I will go back to CIGC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 22nd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am so glad my doctor referred me to Dr.Mackoul. My surgery was quick and virtually, painless. Recovery time was less than a week and I was back to work in no time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 16th, 2014
He is the best doctor!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
"Additional comments..."
Easy Appointment
"Additional comments..."
Promptness
"Additional comments..."
Friendly Staff
"Additional comments..."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Additional comments..."
Spends Time with Patients
"Additional comments..."
Appropriate Follow-up
"Additional comments..."
He is the best doctor!

Positive Comments

Dr. Mackoul did a great job on my surgery. I was up and walking with little pain from the surgery. He accurately diagnosed my problem and relieved me from a lot of pain. Also, his follow ups are great; he is friendly, explains things well and does a great job treating you.

Negative Comments

Negative Comments...

General Comments

General Comments...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 27th, 2014
State of the art care
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I felt confident I was getting state of the art care. I appreciated greatly being able to schedule my procedure so quickly and I could not be more pleased with the surgery and recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 15th, 2014
Very skilled and knowledgeable
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I really appreciated surgeon's expertise and his approach. He is very knowledgeable, he's a nice guy and not condescending. A rare combination in a highly skilled surgeon. Very highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 23rd, 2013
IMPRESSIVE
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The location, professionalism and cleanliness was most impressive and appreciated. Dr. MacKoul is very knowledgeable and thorough in explaining the procedure in detail and answering any of my questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 26th, 2013
The best of the best
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Top-notch quality, reputation, knowledge and professionalism. I wanted someone whos the best of the best, and I have confidence Dr. MacKoul is it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 11th, 2013
Minimally invasive surgery expedited my recovery
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The expertise of the doctor in the ALS procedure and the minimally invasive surgery expedited my recovery to good health. Dr. MacKoul and his team are very professional, knowledgeable and efficient. I am very happy with my surgery and Dr. MacKoul.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 18th, 2013
Great Doc !
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

[What I liked best] The scheduling of the surgery in a timely manner. The post-op recovery was good and fast and a good explanation of the procedure. Loved online access for pre/post surgery instructions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 1st, 2013
This surgeon is on the "cutting" edge of surgical techniques.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Multiple locations offered enough options so that I could get seen sooner rather than later. They offer Saturday appointments which made it easier since I didn't have to take time off from work."
Promptness
"I waited only about 15 minutes to be seen. "
Friendly Staff
"Staff were very helpful."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"I had been having difficulties with fibroids and bleeding continuously for about 12+months."
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I had been experiencing challenges for 12+ months (problems with fibroids for 25+ years) and finally grabbed the courage (and the time) to see my GYN. I had had a few procedures done to try and alleviate problems with fibroids including having some removed but these only worked to alleviate my problems for about 5 years. My GYN referred me to Dr. Mackoul for possible hysterectomy. This was done by Dr. Mackoul using this advanced dual port laparoscopy. Wow the recovery time was fast. There was no pain post surgery (none, and I'm not kidding) or discomfort at all. I was felt a bit bloated for 5-7 days but I've felt bloated for the last 12+ months, nothing different there. After 10 days I must say I haven't felt this good in 20 years. This is a very skilled surgeon. There's no reason for anyone to experience those 6-8 week recovery times any longer from hysterectomy. This advanced laparoscopy surgical technique (mine was dual port) practiced by Dr. MacKoul will change the way these procedures are handled going forward. Thank you for making this experience quick and easy with fast recovery time for me. I feel great and it's all because of your skill and experience doing this procedure. Please continue your good work improving the health of women all around the metro DC area and beyond.

Negative Comments

None.

General Comments

Please also continue sharing these ground-breaking techniques with other surgeons. This is how it should be done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 20th, 2013
I wasn't too fat for laparoscopic! Loved online access for pre/post surgery instructions. I loved Dr. MacKoul's detailed drawings in explaining adenocarcenoma and his patience with my questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 7th, 2017
The best of the best!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Dr. MacKoul is truly the best of the best. I have been to multiple doctors and this was the first time where I knew that my concerns were being heard. I can not say enough good things about this office, doctors and staff!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 30th, 2017
So thankful!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

He is the best of the best!! Ive seen several physicians prior to Dr. MacKoul and they all recommended open surgery for my fibroids due to their size. He was able to remove them laparoscopically! At first I did not believe recovery will be only 2 weeks, but I did go back to work 2 weeks later, and I could have gone back sooner. Fantastic doctor and staff!! Never hesitate to get a second or a third opinion, it can make all the difference. I am so thankful I went to CIGC!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 30th, 2016
In January 2016, Dr. Paul J. Mackoul, MD successfully performed a Laparoscopic Assisted Abdominal Myomectomy - Bilateral Uterine Artery Occlusion (LAAM-BUAO) procedure/ (tourniquet/temporary technique) for me. Dr. Mackoul's medical assessment and innovative approach not only liberated me from several tormenting symptoms I had suffered from for 4-6 years, but also preserved my uterus and fertility! After an arduous, long, and disappointing surgical physician search, I learned of doctor Mackoul by a word-of-mouth referral from a work colleague who had previously experienced a successful LAAM-BUAO procedure performed by Dr. Mackoul's esteemed partner and colleague, Dr. Natalya Danilyants, MD. I counted it as a blessing in disguise! What is most memorable to me is that when I went to the CIGC website and read about all of the procedures, I was pleasantly surprised by how comprehensive and accurate the details were. I found that the CIGC website's information answered my questions and eased my fear of having surgery, which was something I never had to have in my 32 years of life. What I liked a great deal was the high level of professionalism of Dr. Mackoul's staff from the administrative front office, to the quality nurses of his Innovative Surgery Center in Rockville, MD to the surgical physician team and associates themselves. I could not have asked for a more stress-free and fluid moving surgical process and organized system on the day of my surgery. I will always appreciate that because I did not have family by my side during my surgery or after, but I didn't need them after all because God, my Angels, Dr. Mackoul and his staff were all there for me. Yes, I would and have recommended Dr. Paul Mackoul and the Center for Innovative GYN to friends and to (3) work employees. After the apprehension I had from four other GYN physicians during my research, yes, again and again, I would chose Dr. Paul J. Mackoul. Why? Dr. Mackoul is a honest, straight-forward, intelligent, communicative, articulate, thorough and caring GYN physician AND "surgeon" and that made all the good difference for me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 13th, 2016
The staff was so friendly, the ppl at Innovative surgery center went above and beyond to make sure I was taken care of! I came from Atlanta to Maryland to have Dr. Mackoul preform a laparoscopic myomectomy. I didn't like what I was being told in Atlanta! Dr. Mackoul called me and went over everything with me, his staff was extremely attentive, everything was set up before I got here. Dr. Mackoul was very thorough and my surgery went as planned smoothly. His operating nurses were top notch and so friendly! The anesthesiologist was great. Recovery was amazing because my recovery nurse really catered to me. I had a 15 centimeter fibroid removed through two small incisions. Im resting now at my hotel. I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Mackoul for your fibroid procedure! Thanks Dr. Mackoul for saving my uterus and taking great care of me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 8th, 2015
Dr. MacKoul did a great job explaining my condition. I felt assured to have him perform my surgery. I had been looking for a great Dr in a long long time. He is an answered prayer. Professional, competent staff, strive to go above and beyond to resolve any issues. Post-op nursing staff was excellent. Dr. MacKoul is simply exceptional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 30th, 2015
Dr.Mackoul gave me my life back after having a hysterectomy with him. He is compassionate and understanding. He explains procedures and your condition thoroughly so you have a full understanding of what is going on with your body. I HIGHLY recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 16th, 2015
Great! 5 stars! It was on time and the recovery as explained.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 10th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff at the surgical center was exceptional. Nurses were professional and caring which made my procedure that much easier. Dr. MacKoul and his operating staff were swift and awesome as well. I had no pain after the procedure and Dr. MacKoul took the time to reassure me. I wish I knew about this place sooner. I would have done this surgery a long time ago.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 19th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

THEY ARE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 3rd, 2015
Innovations and staff and doctors have made every step of this process comfortable for me. I am very thankful. The previous doctor that was going to perform my surgery did not listen, did not explain nor took the time. Dr. MacKoul was patient and fully explained the procedure. He even took time to answer my questions and concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 11th, 2015
The staff was wonderful before, during and after my procedure. They made me feel comfortable and confident about the decision we made. Dr. MacKoul answered all my questions and was very patient with my indecision at times. I was very well informed and felt ready and confident for my procedure. Everything went well and my recovery has gone well too. I felt very confident in everyone who treated me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 21st, 2014
Scheduled quickly, recovered quickly!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKoul spent plenty of time explaining procedure, explaining diagnosis. Felt very warm and comfortable, never rushed. Staff + surgeon so easy to work with. So accommodating and pleasant. Scheduled quickly, recovered quickly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 7th, 2014
Short recovery... wow
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Well explained so I knew what to expect. Much less scary than I expected. I had surgery at 2pm Tuesday & walked a mile on Wednesday at noon. Wow. Never needed pain meds at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 12th, 2014
Prompt and meticulous care is given.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
"Less than 5minutes"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"They treated my husband and I with the utmost respect."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The professionalism is impeccable

General Comments

I was treated as a person, not a diagnosis. That felt great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 4th, 2013
Dual Point Retrop (SupraCervical Hyst.)
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

It was efficient and fast considering the size of the uterine fibroids. The recovery time was unbelievable. Although Im still healing, Im grateful to be mobile and doing as well as I am considering my GYN diagnosis of 6-8 weeks recovery time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 7th, 2013
MacKoul saves lives
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKoul is the BEST - hands down. Dealing with major medical issues (fibroids&endometriosis, then ovarian cancer) is stressful, but one thing I didnt have to worry about was the level of care I was receiving. Unlike some surgeons, Dr. MacKoul discussed with me what I wanted & how we could achieve that goal while maintaining my health. He was patient, answered my questions thoroughly & worked with me and my family - he was an answer to prayers!

Negative Comments

I did wait a little bit, but Dr. MacKoul sat down with me and discussed my issues. He didn't just shove me out the door to fit more patients in. That being said, the wait was worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 26th, 2016
Expert in GYN Surgery
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I found this doctor online after being disappointed with my initial consultation with another gyn. The reviews were positive so I made an appointment. Dr. Mackoul explained my options concerning my fibroids and other issues. I had a laparoscopic hysterectomy. I am 5 days post surgery with no bleeding and minimum pain. The staff was very professional and efficient. I was pleased with my experience at Holly Cross.This doctor was very meticulous. He suggested a D&C before the surgery to make sure I didn't have any cancer cells. I am so glad I made the choice to have my fibroids consultation with this doctor. He was very knowledgeable. I see why women travel from other parts of the country to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 2nd, 2016
Dr. MacKoul and his entire team literally saved my life. I spent 4 years looking for an answer to explain all of my ailments, and Dr. MacKoul solved it in less than 4 minutes. The surgery techniques that this Center uses are so incredibly astounding and innovative, I almost cant believe my own eyes. I wish I could give this place more stars for my review. After having a DualPortGYN, minimally invasive laparoscopic hysterectomy I instantly felt better than I have in the past 23 years of my life. Literally all of my pains were completely gone. I was in their surgical center for less than 3 hours for this major surgery and 12 hours later I was out walking my dogs. No hospital stay, no noticeable incisions of any kind on my body, but entire organs were removed. How amazing is that? 6 weeks recovery the old fashioned way, or 12 hours with The Center for Innovative GYN Care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 11th, 2015
So professional and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 1st, 2015
Dr. MacKoul and staff, handled my pre & post care, with great respect. Dr. MacKoul provided me with options, he provided his recommendation with detailed explanation. I was walked through every step of the process, all questions + concerns were answered. Knowledgeable, no secrets or no hidden costs. The procedure, Dr. MacKoul, and his staff were awesome! I literally had a 24 hour recovery, with NO PAIN, NO PROBLEMS! I refer all my friends to Dr. MacKoul.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 15th, 2015
Dr. Mackoul is amazing!! I've had a very difficult case and he has been very proactive during my treatment. His office staff, especially, Leslie, are kind, empathetic, and welcoming.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 2nd, 2015
Staff very personable and friendly. Pre & Post surgery staff very attentive. Follow up was consistent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 1st, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"I have never felt so well-cared for and about. LOVED this team!"
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great! All 5 stars! Professionalism and friendliness of all staff and doctors was the best part of my experience.

Positive Comments

Great! All 5 stars! Professionalism and friendliness of all staff and doctors was the best part of my experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 20th, 2015
I highly recommend Dr. Paul MacKoul! He is a great expert in this field! His staff is so patient and genuinely want you to feel better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 15th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Im so glad I was referred to Dr. MacKoul. All the nurses and Dr. MacKoul were very informative, helpful, and calming (I needed that the most) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 4th, 2014
Great Doctor, recommend highly!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

My surgery was quick and less invasive. I was up on my feet performing normal duties in 3 days. Doctor MacKoul was great in his explanations and very convincing. Great Job Dr!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 25th, 2013
Dr. MacKoul is the best!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Extremely and he has a number of locations in the area to choose from."
Promptness
"Yes; particularly since I had my paperwork filled out from their website."
Friendly Staff
"Everyone one of the staff I have either spoken with and/or met was professional, friendly and most helpful."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. MacKoul put me at ease from the very begginning. He takes time to answer all your questions and those of your family. I had to have a very large ovarian cyst removed, plus a total hysteroctomy including both ovaries. I had absolutely no post-op pain. It was a delightful surprise. Only needed Ibruprophen some at night to sleep and could drive several days later. He is truly cutting edge. Turned out I had ovariarn cancer. Dr. MacKoul and his staff have turned out to be life savers. If he had not pushed me to have the surgery when he did, well who knows. After the diagnosis, during follow-up, Dr. MacKoul spent time going over the next steps and making sure I understood what was going on. I will need additional surgery after I complete chemo in 6 months or so. He is part of my team with my oncologist. I have not heard of other surgeons doing this. He is a surgeon, who actually has bedside manor, and cares about his patients.

Negative Comments

None.

General Comments

I highly recommend Dr. MacKoul. My children have nicknamed "Dr. MacKool." He truly is Kool.Sandy M.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 27th, 2013
Quick surgery, easy recovery, I feel fantastic!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I had a wonderful experience. Dr. MacKoul put me at ease at my first appointment and I left feeling confident and relieved! My surgery and post-op recovery were both very easy and quick. I returned to work after 1 week and feel fantastic. I tell everyone if they need these types of medical procedures this is the place to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 17th, 2013
Service excellence
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Entire experience was awesome. Dr MacKoul is a magician in what he does best. Dr. MacKoul and staff define service excellence.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 22nd, 2018
Being just 24 years old, Dr. MacKoul was the only doctor who never judged me, he heard me out, and he fixed my problems! He is the absolute best of the best. I was able to do 2 flights of stairs the day after my hysterectomy, I was able to return home to
Was this review helpful? Yes No