Dr. Paul Mackoul MD

  • Gynecologic Oncology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
28 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.9
74 patient ratings,
65 comments

Have you seen Dr. Paul Mackoul?

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    97%
  • Satisfied
    1%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Wait Time 13.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 of 66 reviews

5.0 October 7th, 2017
The best of the best!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Dr. MacKoul is truly the best of the best. I have been to multiple doctors and this was the first time where I knew that my concerns were being heard. I can not say enough good things about this office, doctors and staff!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 30th, 2017
So thankful!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

He is the best of the best!! Ive seen several physicians prior to Dr. MacKoul and they all recommended open surgery for my fibroids due to their size. He was able to remove them laparoscopically! At first I did not believe recovery will be only 2 weeks, but I did go back to work 2 weeks later, and I could have gone back sooner. Fantastic doctor and staff!! Never hesitate to get a second or a third opinion, it can make all the difference. I am so thankful I went to CIGC!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 May 12th, 2017
TERRIBLE DOCTOR! Wanted to perform an unnecessary surgery. He even get annoyed 30 minutes before the surgery with questions that I already answered. The post-op was terrible, very painful and I even get an infection (he did not prescribe me any antibiotics after the surgery)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 1st, 2016
Dr. McKoul is a great doctor. Since he did my surgery, I have not had any problems. I wish I had met him before all of my previous surgeries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 17th, 2016
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Dr. MacKoul is a phenomenal surgeon. I dealt with fibroids for over 15 years and Dr. MacKoul relieved me of this condition in a 1.5-hour, minimally-invasive surgery. The recovery was very fast; I was driving in 5 days. I cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff and all who were involved with my care. I initially attempted to manage my situation through naturopathic means, so I was very healthy, but my body could not figure out how to get rid of fibroids that ultimately weighed over 9 pounds. I can say two things about my experience: 1) If you are suffering from enlarged fibroids and doctors in your area dont seem confident in what to do with you, seek out Dr. MacKoul. You will not be an anomaly to him. 2) Do your best to maintain your health diet, sleep, exercise, supplements, etc. as healthy lifestyle choices will help you recover optimally post-surgery. Dr. MacKouls surgical skill has given me a new lease on life. My experience has been life-changing. I wish you well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 26th, 2016
Expert in GYN Surgery
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I found this doctor online after being disappointed with my initial consultation with another gyn. The reviews were positive so I made an appointment. Dr. Mackoul explained my options concerning my fibroids and other issues. I had a laparoscopic hysterectomy. I am 5 days post surgery with no bleeding and minimum pain. The staff was very professional and efficient. I was pleased with my experience at Holly Cross.This doctor was very meticulous. He suggested a D&C before the surgery to make sure I didn't have any cancer cells. I am so glad I made the choice to have my fibroids consultation with this doctor. He was very knowledgeable. I see why women travel from other parts of the country to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 19th, 2016
The entire staff made me feel comfortable and took real good care of me. I did not know what to expect and was nervous about a procedure of this magnitude, but the surgeon answered my questions and assured me that all will be well and I can resume a normal lifestyle. He explained to me and my caretakers what would happen before and after the procedure. Everyone was courteous, informative and respectful. I definitely recommend Dr. MacKoul.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 5th, 2016
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Mackoul and the staff at the Center for Innovative GYN Care. I had a very large, pedunculated fibroid (11 cm) located on the outside of my uterus. The fibroid started out small when first diagnosed years ago and my then OB/GYN suggested watchful waiting. While I had no pain or bleeding with this type of fibroid, I did, however, over this past year, notice that I was having some symptoms that included bloating, the appearance of a lump when laying down, and frequent urination. I heard about Dr. Mackoul while listening to WTOP on the way to work one morning. I contacted the Center and was able to get a consult appointment at the Annapolis office. Because I am 47 years old, and do not plan to have children, a hysterectomy was recommended, but leaving my one ovary. I was very nervous, but Dr. Mackoul was very reassuring and explained to me everything I needed to know. I had surgery at Holy Cross Hospital on 2/16/16. I came home that evening, took a pain pill to help me sleep that night. When I woke up the next morning, I couldnt believe how good I felt. I only used Motrin for the next two days and returned to work six days later on 2/22/16. You cant even tell where my incisions were! All I can say is my experience from beginning to end has been top notch. For women that are told they need invasive surgery, you MUST make an appointment with Dr. Mackoul. You will not regret it. He is amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 30th, 2016
In January 2016, Dr. Paul J. Mackoul, MD successfully performed a Laparoscopic Assisted Abdominal Myomectomy - Bilateral Uterine Artery Occlusion (LAAM-BUAO) procedure/ (tourniquet/temporary technique) for me. Dr. Mackoul's medical assessment and innovative approach not only liberated me from several tormenting symptoms I had suffered from for 4-6 years, but also preserved my uterus and fertility! After an arduous, long, and disappointing surgical physician search, I learned of doctor Mackoul by a word-of-mouth referral from a work colleague who had previously experienced a successful LAAM-BUAO procedure performed by Dr. Mackoul's esteemed partner and colleague, Dr. Natalya Danilyants, MD. I counted it as a blessing in disguise! What is most memorable to me is that when I went to the CIGC website and read about all of the procedures, I was pleasantly surprised by how comprehensive and accurate the details were. I found that the CIGC website's information answered my questions and eased my fear of having surgery, which was something I never had to have in my 32 years of life. What I liked a great deal was the high level of professionalism of Dr. Mackoul's staff from the administrative front office, to the quality nurses of his Innovative Surgery Center in Rockville, MD to the surgical physician team and associates themselves. I could not have asked for a more stress-free and fluid moving surgical process and organized system on the day of my surgery. I will always appreciate that because I did not have family by my side during my surgery or after, but I didn't need them after all because God, my Angels, Dr. Mackoul and his staff were all there for me. Yes, I would and have recommended Dr. Paul Mackoul and the Center for Innovative GYN to friends and to (3) work employees. After the apprehension I had from four other GYN physicians during my research, yes, again and again, I would chose Dr. Paul J. Mackoul. Why? Dr. Mackoul is a honest, straight-forward, intelligent, communicative, articulate, thorough and caring GYN physician AND "surgeon" and that made all the good difference for me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 24th, 2016
Dr. Paul MacKoul treated me for a 19 pound fibroid, with a laparoscopic hysterectomy! With just a few small incisions, that are now nearly invisible, I had surgery on a Monday and was driving by the following Tuesday! I didn't need pain meds after just three days and was back to work in two weeks! The difference between this experience and my open myomectomy 12 years ago was startling. If I ever need GYN surgery again, I will go back to CIGC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 2nd, 2016
Dr. MacKoul and his entire team literally saved my life. I spent 4 years looking for an answer to explain all of my ailments, and Dr. MacKoul solved it in less than 4 minutes. The surgery techniques that this Center uses are so incredibly astounding and innovative, I almost cant believe my own eyes. I wish I could give this place more stars for my review. After having a DualPortGYN, minimally invasive laparoscopic hysterectomy I instantly felt better than I have in the past 23 years of my life. Literally all of my pains were completely gone. I was in their surgical center for less than 3 hours for this major surgery and 12 hours later I was out walking my dogs. No hospital stay, no noticeable incisions of any kind on my body, but entire organs were removed. How amazing is that? 6 weeks recovery the old fashioned way, or 12 hours with The Center for Innovative GYN Care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 13th, 2016
The staff was so friendly, the ppl at Innovative surgery center went above and beyond to make sure I was taken care of! I came from Atlanta to Maryland to have Dr. Mackoul preform a laparoscopic myomectomy. I didn't like what I was being told in Atlanta! Dr. Mackoul called me and went over everything with me, his staff was extremely attentive, everything was set up before I got here. Dr. Mackoul was very thorough and my surgery went as planned smoothly. His operating nurses were top notch and so friendly! The anesthesiologist was great. Recovery was amazing because my recovery nurse really catered to me. I had a 15 centimeter fibroid removed through two small incisions. Im resting now at my hotel. I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Mackoul for your fibroid procedure! Thanks Dr. Mackoul for saving my uterus and taking great care of me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No