Dr. Joseph D Stern MD

  • Neurological Surgery
29 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.7
175 patient ratings,
85 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    91%
  • Satisfied
    2%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Wait Time 9.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 of 45 reviews

5.0 July 29th, 2016
A Wonderful Doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Excellent experience in all respects !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 9th, 2016
Better Than I Anticipated
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Had arthritis real bad in lower back. Dr Stern did surgery and had great success. Not experiencing pain from the moment I woke up from surgery to the present. Dr Stern did a great job and would recommend highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 20th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr Stern is a kind and carring Doctor. He operated on my back in 3 different places and did a wonderful job

General Comments

I wish there were more Doctors like him
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 24th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had 4 level fusion 7 months ago and it has changed me from a sit at home person to a get up and go person. Dr. Stern layed out what he was going to do and what I could expect as my possible results. He and his staff have always been professional and helpful when it comes to all my questions. I have and would recommend Dr. Stern for any back pain problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 19th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing dr stern for about six years. After my last mri he recommended we look at surgical options. I am 2 weeks post op and extremely pleased with the results. Dr. Stern is superlative, I cannot not say enough about his surgical skills and his kindness. I would and will recommend him to anyone in need of his skills. His staff and everyone at the hospital went above and beyond, so kind and caring, thank you all from the bottom of my heart!! Stephen smith.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 6th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I am very pleased with all the srg. That dr. Stern did for me and would recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 10th, 2016
Awesome Doc
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Dr. Stern is an excellent Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 3rd, 2016
Amazing Doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Everything went well. I am happy with my results from my micro laser disckectomy. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 9th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Kind compassionate...highly impressed! I would recommend Dr. Stern to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 14th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had pain in shoulders and neck. Dr sterns and the staff were great both before and after my surgery. Would and have recommend them to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 27th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt very comfortable with Dr. Stern throughout the entire expience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 4th, 2015
Wonderful results
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Completely removed a LARGE meningioma on frontal lobe. Excellent outcome. Wonderful practice, Dr Stern is an amazing, gifted surgeon .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 30th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Stern is excellent at explaining the process ! And is a excellent doctor ! I feel perfect NOW !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 20th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Fabulous explanation and bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 19th, 2016
Magnificent Doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

As a nurse anesthetist, I am very familiar with providing care for neurosurgical patients. It is completely different being the patient and the one in need. Dr Stern has been thorough, available and patient throughout my surgery and recovery. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 12th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stern is great! I had Scoliosis, 5 bulging disk. He did fusions and it has been 7 months since surgery. I feel great! I highly recommend him if you have any back issues!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 9th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came to Dr. Stern with severe lower back pain. After getting an MRI I met with him for another office visit. We decided the only way to properly deal with the problem was to have surgery and have a fusion. We scheduled and had the surgery and all went great! It's been a little over a year and with the recent X-ray the healing is doing fine. I am thankful for his knowledge and ability to perform the surgery and the knowledge and and courtesy of his staff. I hope I will never have anymore spinal problems but if I do I will most definitely return to Dr. Stern!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 18th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr stern is a wonderful surgeon who really cares about his patients. I have needed his services three times, and have been blessed to have him as my doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 23rd, 2013
Highly recommended
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Stern and his staff provided excellent care during and after my two surgeries. They thoroughly explained what to expect during and after the procedures. And they answered all my questions and concerns. They are warm, caring professionals, and neither my neck nor lower back surgeries had any complications. I recovered very quickly with minimal pain...Janet Hopkins
Was this review helpful? Yesxcuwaasbzdsx No
5.0 October 20th, 2016
You are in good hands
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Always responsive, always concerned.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 26th, 2016
A Great Experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

i have a great experience with DrStern. He is very good at explaining the what, how and when.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 17th, 2016
Magnificent
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Microdiscectomy excellent results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 13th, 2016
He fixed my C6-7 herniated disc. Out of the hospital in 1 day. Back to work quickly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 2nd, 2016
Satisfied with Outcome
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Dr. Stern is exceptional. We knew when we first arrived at the office we made the right decision.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 19th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He fixed a herniated disk and pinched nerve in my back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 18th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Absolutely superb.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 13th, 2014
excellent neurosurgeon and results!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I saw Dr. Stern because of a disc protrusion which pinched a nerve. Dr. Stern performed a microdiscectomy. I felt better immediately upon waking up from the surgery. Dr. Stern's staff was professional and courteous. I have no more pain and for the most part am back to normal. My experience was very satisfactory and I would return to Dr. Stern if I needed to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 30th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I am doing terrific since my surgery. I had scoliosis and spinal stenosis and had a spine fusion. I am playing golf and doing everything I want to do. No pain meds at all. Walking 2 miles a day and lifting weights. I am 83!..John bondurant
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 14th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Very good, went into surgery with unbearable pain, came out basically pain free.-GT Stephens
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 28th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Excellent surgeon. Back to work in one day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 25th, 2016
Pleased Patient
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Almost 3 weeks postoperative and I am doing great. I appreciate the surgeon responding to my needs so quickly as before surgery I was unable to function. Thank you for all you do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 20th, 2016
Refreshing Experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 22nd, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stern is one of the most caring doctors I know of. I had been in so much pain that I could not walk. I am doing good now, other than lower back pain which I can tolerate. .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 2nd, 2015
For a neurosurgeon, Dr Stern should be your choice
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Efficient thorough and one of the best doctors and experience for a major surgery. Would recommend to all! And he is very personable and spends sufficient time explaining in understanble terms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 15th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
3rd follow-up after December surgery. Had some numbness post-surgery and Dr Stern has followed up with me on that, which has been improving over each month. Received a neck exercise pamphlet and different muscle relaxer than previously prescribed. Both Bryan and Dr Stern have listened to my description of pain/numbness through each visit. They have also managed my expectations about recovery from surgery and time for numbness to dissipate. Each time, any complaint has been followed up by questions or physical examination. The follow-up has been thorough, and consistent from visit to visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 7th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Stern is a wonderful doctor and has helped me greatly!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 23rd, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After interviewing surgeons, I chose Dr. Stern after a very thorough initial examination, and the detailed explanation of the issue. Dr. Stern gave me confidence that my health issue would be properly treated. Outstanding Result from the surgery! Steve Abbatello.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4.0 October 1st, 2014
Good doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The pain felt before surgery left immediately after surgery. I only experience the discomfort of the healing process now. I feel dr. Stern was accurate with his prognos. .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 4th, 2014
I would highly recommend Dr. Stern and his staff!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

This was by far my best experience with a Dr. That I have ever had! Dr Stern and his staff were professional kind and on point with the diagnosis and treatment of my symptoms. I came to see Dr Stern after hearing about a newer procedure that was being done for treatment of degerniteve disk in the cervical spine called total disk replacement. I am currently three weeks out from surgery and i have not felt this good in years! I was even able to walk to my car after surgery. I would highly recommend Dr Stern and this treatment option!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 31st, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Excellent provider. Always listens to my concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 7th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Fantastic bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 22nd, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I had bad pain in my right arm after an auto accident. I was recommended to Dr. stern . He took very good care of me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 16th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Excellent neuro surgeon. Highly recommendable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 21st, 2013
I would highly recommend Dr. Stern
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I felt very comfortable with the knowledge and care from Dr. Stern and his team. I had surgery on my L4 L5, and it went great. I returned for a follow up appointment after two weeks, and had no pain at all. I would recommend Dr. Stern and his staff to anyone who is need of a neurological surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 9th, 2013
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Excellent experience. Dr. Stern operated on me in two days time. Exlt result.
Was this review helpful? Yes No