Dr. John Zipperer Jr MD

  • Pain Management
19 Years Experience

Share your Experience

2.0
28 patient ratings,
24 comments

Have you seen Dr. John Zipperer Jr?

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    21%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    68%
  • Wait Time 40.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 of 24 reviews

1.0 September 1st, 2015
Find a different pain management doctor. Do not go here.
Wait time
40 minutes
"1 staff member was nice. Not zipperer or has wanna be P.A'sLots of Yelling that can be heard through closed doors too.."
Easy Appointment
Promptness
"Noooo!!! And uncomfortable for being a pain management office. The seats were rock hard. And once you got back in the office. You had to wsit. Then when he finally saw me. It was as he couldn't rush fast enough to get out of there.."
Friendly Staff
"1 nice oerson working there. So 2 atars."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Only accurate until his last two reports before he discharged me. And even then it was Dr.Chambers who wrote correct reports.."
Spends Time with Patients
"Only see him for a minute or two. If he had to be bothered, he was not a very nice person.Especially if the weekly shots were not working."
Appropriate Follow-up
"He dropped me, with no referral. Because I questioned his ethics.. He said He did not get along with me. And that I did not trust him, and he did not trust me. Even though, I passed all his screenings on various levels. Viewed and unviewed. I questioned him. He got mad and dropped me.Nuff saidExcept I refuse to let a hack try to tarnish my name..To bad he didn't know, I had someone with me listening to his evert word. He also fails to put in his reports the actual conversations."
Do not go without someone. Is all I can say. Find a different doctor. Not a wanna be..

Negative Comments

Unprofessional, disrespectful, and yery mean. Treats you like dirt, if you don't have someone there with you during your appointment.

General Comments

Seek help elsewhere. Please read all the reviews from all sites. The ones giving 5 stars I'm sure are employees or friends trying to help save his Bacon..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 5th, 2015
Great doc- great staff- great care
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 June 26th, 2014
Scared to death of him
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

None

Negative Comments

Have had nothing but outrageous bills, he has never bothered to look at my records.

General Comments

I would rather shoot myself than see him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 April 23rd, 2014
Dea, ak state medical board and insurance commission all say he is going down. His greediness is going to put him in jail. Unethical and it's a shame he's been allowed to hurt patients for this long!

Negative Comments

Stay away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 30th, 2014
After years of dealing with chronic pain as the result of a serious back injury I finally found a provider that compassionately approaches a balance of interventional and medication management to allow me to live a productive pain free life. M.F.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 October 10th, 2014
IV been with Dr.zipperer for 5 weeks the 5th week he TRYED to put me on suboxen,IV only been continuously on opiets for 4weeks my insurance thankfully denied the script due to my track record i do not fit the criteria for the script,I feel he does want people with addiction or make people end up having one!!at first they were very welcoming an on point.then it went a different direction...i feel he is about the money an truly is fake about caring for people in need that are needing a doctor to help with managing their pain...GO some were ELSE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 September 26th, 2014
Not professional. Very thin skinned and he's all about the money!!! Staff unorganized, don't even have pens at front desk. Long waiting time for appointment. Just wants to get you addicted to his Rx's so he can keep you for a VERY long time as a patient!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 September 25th, 2015
Wait time
60 minutes
"Sometimes up to 3 hours to get dosed"
Easy Appointment
"Oh yea he wanted your money"
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
"Only to come in and make u feel like a criminal"
Took me for every penny I made
Was this review helpful? Yesxcuwaasbzdsx No
2.0 August 16th, 2014
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

He did all the talking and never listened to me at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2.0 January 24th, 2014
14000 for 2 UA drug tests
Wait time
60 minutes
"3 hrs the first time, 2 hours the second."
Easy Appointment
"Getting it is easy, he'll rob anyone blind."
Promptness
"Would like to put in a negative number."
Friendly Staff
"Just like him."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
"5 minutes taken with his spiel of why he's in Alaska"
Arrogant. Doesn't listen

Negative Comments

He's a creep

General Comments

Find a real Dr that's interested in helping you, instead of helping himself to your wallet and bank account.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 24th, 2014
rip off. run away from this one
Wait time
60 minutes
"Waited over 3 hours."
Easy Appointment
Promptness
"Uh, no. 3 hours"
Friendly Staff
"Bunch of a_holes"
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Wrong meds, wouldn't listen."
Spends Time with Patients
"Talking about himself."

Negative Comments

Narcissistic, sends unneeded test to his own lab in Tenn. SO HE CHARGE WHAT EVER HE WANTS! No oversight.

General Comments

$8100 for a test Lab corp will do for $344.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 22nd, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have always had a good experience with Dr. Zipperer, and his staff has always been very professional and friendly. I would strongly recomended him .

General Comments

Dr. Zipperer has been a wonderful pain management Doctor. His staff has been very pleasant . I like the fact that he is able to offer treatment's in his office instead of referring to another Doctor out of the area. All and all, my experience with Dr. Zipperer and his staff has been positive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 18th, 2016
DOCTOR ZIPPERER IS MY PAIN MANAGEMENT DOCTOR WHO TOOK CARE OF ME FOR THE PAST YEAR AND MY HEALT AND MOBILITY HAS IMPROVED. SOME OF THE THINGS I WAS UNABLE TO DO IN THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS ARE NAW POSSABLE; EVERYDAY I WALK A COUPLE OF MILES WITHOUT PAIN AND STRESS. DOCTOR ZIPPERER HAS BROUGHT MY HEALT TO A NEW LEVEL. THANKS TO HIS PROFESSIONAL CARE AND INTERES HE TAKES IN HIS PATIENTS. WE NEED DOCTOR JOHN ZIPPERER TO CONTINUE HIS PRACTICE IN FAIRBANKS ALASKA I DO NOT KNOW WHAT WE WOUL DO WITHOUT HIM . THANKYOU TO DOCTOR ZIPPERER AND HIS OFFICE STAF IN FAIRBANKS ALASKA; GOD BLESSYOU DEAR DOCTOR. MIKE AND PAT FLAYAC
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 August 3rd, 2015
A Joke way over priced billing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 May 11th, 2014
money hungry quack
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
"in and out. Didn't listen to what I had to say. "
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

very unprofessional and I felt he didn't really care about me and what I was dealing with, felt he only cared about the money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 23rd, 2014
dr.zipperer is paranoid
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"know it all attitude and false accusations that border on abuse but were definitely HARASSMENT"
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

able to get in for injections, which he is not board certified to perform, with ease and fast.

Negative Comments

does not follow through with trusting patients, long office wait time, know it all attitude problem. unwilling to diagnose rare enzyme deficiencies that can affect urine tests, would sooner just assume someone is tampering with their tests, despite giving 5 supervised urinalysis screens and the fact that I did NOTHING wrong he accused me of tampering, when there are other physical situations that would cause tests to come back the way they do in 90%of patients anyway, he accused me of tampering and drug abuse, which I wasn't doing.

General Comments

RUN FOR THE HILLS! Do NOT sign a pain contract with this office. They are not board certified to perform pain management or do injections, but perform these duties despite their ignorance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 6th, 2014
Dr charged 5000.00 for office vistits when ua was done
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

Rip off

General Comments

Find another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 May 6th, 2015
If you are reading reviews about getting scammed and monthly urine tests that cost thousands of dollars, believe it. Believe me. When I first started seeing him, I had already met my deductible with medical bills related to surgery which necessitated seeing him. He was scamming me the whole time, but I didn't pay much attention until after the calendar year this year. Now I notice how much he is charging because I'm on the hook for it. $8000 for a urinalysis... I just saw another doctor. Same treatment same urinalysis, $150. How is this guy still operating?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 January 21st, 2015
Total rip-off,,, thief
Wait time
50 minutes
"slow as hell"
Easy Appointment
"sure"
Promptness
"yea right every time i have went in i have had to wait almost an hour"
Friendly Staff
"they don't even know what they are doing it is all an act just to rip you off."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Not even both him and his but buddy are idiots"
Spends Time with Patients
"long enough to talk you into an injection so they can double bill your insurance company and you get stuck paying for it."
Appropriate Follow-up
"just wanted to give me more useless shots for $6000.00 a pop. i would love to hit him and knock him cold for being an idiot and his partner the nerd too Zack."
lower than -0-

Positive Comments

NONE

Negative Comments

worthless crooks who should serve time in jail.

General Comments

never been around such stupid worthless bunch of IDIOT'S
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 October 10th, 2014
Horrifying.....he wants people to b addicted or make them addicted.

Negative Comments

sTay away go somewhere else even if its hard to be seen by some one else wait u will thank me

General Comments

they only want people with addiction or turn them into addicts!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 June 14th, 2014
Shame on Dr. Zipperer
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness

Negative Comments

I guess money is more important to Dr. Zipperer than wanting to be proud of being a good doctor and helping patients in need! I am appalled that he has been getting away with this and even more appalled that he is willing to continue to do so and to take advantage of patients that come to him trusting and expecting help from him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 April 29th, 2014
Stay away!
Very unprofessional, uneducated, money hungry, I've never seen a doctor so blatantly concerned with charges vs patient safety. He actually calls himself "the pill doc" straight to my face. He bought his own lab in Tennessee so he could charge $6000 for a basic ua. He is not educated in pain management or the injections he REQUIRES every patient to get from him. According to Ak medical board and DEA he will be gone soon. And he knows it, that's why he charges so much and makes up excuses to see you weekly. A shame to the medical community.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 March 25th, 2014
Greedy Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
"Easy to get an appointment, especially when he finds out that you have double health insurance."
Promptness
Friendly Staff
"Staff knows nothing about patient confidentiality."
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
He is a greedy doctor; cares only about money.

Positive Comments

None.

Negative Comments

He charges $8,000.00 for a urine drug test. I only went there for 3 visits and he required a UA each time. The in-house tested negative on all 3, but he then sent them to his lab in Tennessee to charge $8,000.00 each! He does not follow the "standard of care" that other doctors in the area follow. A urine drug test should cost no more than $500.00 maximum.

General Comments

Stay away from this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 March 16th, 2014
Stay away!
Easy Appointment
"Oh, he will take on anyone for what he charges!"
Promptness
"No"
Friendly Staff
"Staff is clueless and abused by him"
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
"Diagnosis? Ha! He slings as many meds as he can think of!"
Spends Time with Patients
"Full of bs"
Appropriate Follow-up
"He will want to see you every week to rake in the dough.."
Killing his patients. He got greedy and is about to go down.

Positive Comments

None

Negative Comments

He is responsible for many deaths - a fact..
Was this review helpful? Yes No