Dr. Gilbert Simoni MD

  • Gastroenterology
  • Internal Medicine

Share your Experience

4.2
51 patient ratings,
25 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5.0 July 30th, 2013
This is the best doctor I have ever met
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Simply the best

Positive Comments

Caring, through, meticulous, understanding, and knowledgable

Negative Comments

Too nice !

General Comments

Be careful when you read online comments... I have learned the more people write in a review, the more fake stuff are said, be it a negative or a positive review. Some people write terrible reviews just because they did not get their way with a service. In the medical world, it is usually for not getting drugs or a discount that one believes he/she deserves !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 14th, 2013
Wow !!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I totally agree with everyone else in here. Dr. Simoni is absolutely the best doc I have ever been too. From the moment I called for appointment until I left his office, him and his staff did an awesome job. The procedure was also a breeze, but would not miss the prep :-)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 28th, 2013
Best gastro doc ever
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best gastro doc ever

Positive Comments

Dr. Simoni is by far the best gastro doctor I have ever been to. I have had too many years of suffering with reflux disease. But all the other doctors just told me to take a pill and go away, or would just change the pills to another one. No one really took the time to really listen to me until I met Simoni. He is gentle, humble, and ahead of any other gastro I have ever even heard of... He examined me, did the microchip thing in the throat to make sure I really have reflux, then did a TIF. (the only issue was the few weeks of restricted diet after surgery, but he told me that it is necessary to keep my new valve from loosening) my life is super now, I lost 15 pounds, I can now eat what I want, sleep sound at night, and do not even take a single antacid pill... I wish I would have met him 10 years ago.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 October 16th, 2012
Irresponsible Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Negative Comments

I went to see Dr. Simoni when I was in liver failure and days away from dying. I had no idea what was wrong with me. His idea to diagnose me was an expensive procedure which involved putting a camera down my throat. He knew what the problem was as he had his staff call me numerous times after I left for follow up. By that time I had engaged a doctor who knew by looking at me that I was sick with cancer and had frayed me within minutes of arriving at his office to confirm. Dr Simoni is irresponsible and greedy not a responsible doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 April 19th, 2016
I had seen Dr. Simoni several years ago, and he treated me for chronic pancreatitis. I thought we had a good doctor-patient relationship. So when my endocrinologist informed me that recent test results indicated I may have a problem in my liver or pancreas, I went to see Dr. Simoni to try to get his help in investigating this problem. Dr. Simoni ordered an abdominal MRI and a series of specialized tests (done at Quest Diagnostics). However, when I went back to see Dr. Simoni to find out the test results, he would not see me. His staff informed me that Dr. Simoni had decided I should see a different gastroenterologist, and that I had been "discharged from his practice." He would not go over my test results with me, and so far neither Dr. Simoni nor his staff has made my test results and other records available to the follow-on doctors I am seeing now. The information he could provide would be very helpful, but the doctors I am seeing have stated that Dr. Simoni's staff is KNOWN FOR BEING UNCOOPERATIVE and for refusing to work with other physicians in the area, and they do not expect any help from him. It turns out that I have a life-threatening tumor on my pancreas, and Dr. Simoni's failure to help or at least be cooperative has delayed my treatment. In summary, I believe I have been treated despicably by Dr. Simoni and his staff, and that they have acted in an unethical and unprofessional manner. I certainly CANNOT recommend Dr. Simoni to anyone needing gastroenterology help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 8th, 2013
I agree with the majority here.
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I agree with the majority here. He is really excellent.

Positive Comments

He is really excellent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1.0 May 19th, 2013
Better Doctors Available

Negative Comments

I agree with many of specific issues raised in the other negative reviews online. This doctor has a mild and decent bedside manner, that is until he is challenged. In my case, he assured me that my problems were with my GI tract during the first visit and that he would get to the bottom (pun intended) of them. In fact, he suggested that I probably had Crohns Disease, said I might end up needing to undergo a capsule endoscopy, and prescribed some very expensive medication meant specifically to treat Crohns. That was, of course, quite shocking to me on a first visit since I had never even heard of Crohns before, do not have a family history of it, and no other doctor had previously drawn the same conclusion based upon my symptoms. He immediately ordered several highly expensive tests/procedures to validate his suspicions. The first was a blood serology test that indicated a pattern consistent with Crohns (the accuracy of this test is widely disputed within the medical community), but it conveniently supported his pre-diagnosis. He also ordered an x-ray of my small intestine, which also supposedly indicated some type of narrowing indicative of Crohns. These two findings led to more expensive proceduresa colonoscopy and endoscopy. The colonoscopy came back fine, but the endoscopy found an ulcer, which he treated me for separately. Despite both oscopies not indicating Crohns, he pressed for me to undergo another expensive procedurethe capsule endoscopy he told me about on my first visit. His office then tried to get me to sign a form saying Id pay for the $2K plus for the procedure if my insurance didnt cover it; they said they had a hard time convincing most insurance companies to cover the procedure (and I was beginning to understand why the way they were flying me through all these expensive procedures). I was definitely having my doubts about this doctor by now and I refused to pay for it. Nevertheless, I have a great insurance company and they agreed to cover the procedure. The capsule endoscopy also showed no problemsno signs of Crohns or anything else! Meanwhile, the doc now wanted to perform another endoscopy to check on my ulcer. The initial labs came back negative for H. Pylori, so I was not put on any antibiotics. He told me that wasnt conclusive, though, and there were other tests (breath test, I believe) that could also test for the presence of H. Pylori. I kept pressing him to do those tests, but he wanted to wait and do another expensive endoscopy first; that just didnt make sense to me at all. Why wouldnt we do everything possible, and less expensively, to test for a known and common cause of ulcers before performing another endoscopy to see if it is still there? Anyway, after thousands of dollars of expense to my insurance company, I gave up on this doctor and his money-making procedures. What is my recommendation, then? If you want a doctor that will shower you with attention as long as you are a money tree, then by all means this doctor is for you. At the very least, youll get through some very extensive testing that I was receptive to in the beginning just because I wanted someone to tell me that I didnt have cancer. Because of all of my procedures, I can now tell you for a fact that my GI tract is clean and I do not have any signs of cancer. On the other hand, if you want to avoid lots of invasive medical procedures and are looking for an accurate diagnosis at a reasonable cost, I think there are much better doctors out there. During all my procedures, I kept questioning whether or not my symptoms might just be related to some type of severe allergies, but of course he pushed that possibility aside since it was not his specialty. I have repeatedly had problems with allergies in the past, but I had never had symptoms this bad before. In the end, I returned to my family practice doctor who prescribed Singulair for me and my symptoms have been manageable ever since. Draw your own conclusions. This has been a real education for me in why health care costs are so expensive: misdiagnosis, whether intentional or not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 5th, 2013
Excellent doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I have suffered with abdominal pain for many years. Went to many gastro guys but no one took me seriously. He found the problem and I feel like I have a new life. Wish I would have gone to him first...
Was this review helpful? Yes No