Dr. James K Chan MD

  • Otolaryngology
  • Plastic Surgery
18 Years Experience

Share your Experience

4.8
76 patient ratings,
54 comments

Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    95%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 6.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 of 39 reviews

5.0 June 5th, 2016
Great experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
"Took a while to get appointment but didn't wait long once scheduled "
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 28th, 2016
Excellent office!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 23rd, 2015
skin cancer
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Doctor Chan treated me for skin cancer and did a wonderful job. I saw him with two little sun damaged areas on my nose and forehead. He saw another one on my forehead and recommended they all be removed. Two of the three were skin cancer and I had to have them removed again. I was scared that I would have an unsightly scar. After having the second procedure, I healed up great. I even went to a party right after and was complimented! Doctor Chan does really nice work. I am so grateful I was referred to Doctor Chan-- he is talented, personable, and trully a wonderful person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 24th, 2015
Great Job
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a broken nose fixed by Dr. Chan. Was referred by the Emergency room. It was a good experience. Very professional. Well done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 22nd, 2015
Sinus and nasal surgery
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience has been great. I had sinus and nasal surgery with Dr. Chan. My nose looks great, and I can breathe again. No more drainage, and hacking up phlegm when I run! I always wanted my nose to be straighter, and Dr. Chan did a great job. I would highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 31st, 2014
Great experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank you Dr. Chan for helping me breathe better. I have always had trouble breathing through my nose. I have frequent sinus infections, and headaches. Recently my husband complained I was snoring. That was it-- I knew I had to do something. I went to Dr. Chan because he is an expert in nasal, sinus, and cosmetic surgery of the nose. However, he is more than that-- he is a true physician! He diagnosed and treated my sinus infection, started me on nasal sprays for allergies, and helped straighten my sinus. I also had a small bump on my nose that he shaved down. I can now breathe so much better and my snoring has stopped. My husband no longer sleeps in the living room! Thank you Dr. Chan for helping me breathe but more importantly helping my marriage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 31st, 2014
Excellent experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Chan fixed my son's broken nose and explained everything us. He is very caring and compassionate. Would highly recommend him.

General Comments

I was referred by a friend who is an anesthesiologist who works with Dr. Chan and said he would only see Dr. Chan for this problem. Means a lot to me to have a referral from a doctor who actually works in the OR with Dr. Chan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 4th, 2016
Great
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Good job. Very happy with Dr. Chan's work. Would recoomend him to everyone. He is the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 21st, 2015
A patient for life
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had fillers done by Dr. Chan and am completely happy. I went to my reunion and got so many compliments. I also got hit on by guys much younger than me at a bar. I do not feel like I look that different just more refreshed but obviously something is working. I will be a patient for life!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 27th, 2015
Life changing experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan took care of my son. He was having difficulty breathing at night and not getting much rest. I did not know what was happening until I took him in to see Dr. Chan. From the very beginning, he made my son feel at ease. I was worried about surgery but the staff at Mt Scott Surgery Center were great. Thank you for everything. It was a life changing experience for me and my son.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 19th, 2015
Dr. Chan is a true artist!!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan is great. I had a rhinoplasty many years ago in another country and was not happy with the results. After 15 years, I finally got the courage to undergo surgery again. After I met Dr. Chan, I was confident he would do a great job. He is a true artist, and very sincere in his approach. He did not try to sell or convince me anything. He just gave me the information, and answered all my questions. The results are better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 16th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Awesome experience-Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 1st, 2014
best facial plastic surgeon around
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Dr. Chan removed some skin lesions from my husband's face two weeks ago that i thought would leave huge scars. At this moment, he looks like nothing happened and is completely healed. I highly recommend Dr. Chan and his staff, they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 21st, 2016
Great doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgeon and professional office staff. Highly recommend him.

Positive Comments

Helpful, kind and compassionate

Negative Comments

None

General Comments

Go see him he's the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 19th, 2016
Impressive Doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Service, quality excellent. Wonderful, helpful staff. I heard about Dr. Chan and his practice through the internet and my connections with other scientists/docs in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 April 12th, 2016
Excellent care
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

I went to see Dr. Chan for lower eyelid surgery. He spent a long time with me during consultation and recommended a non-surgical option. I eventually underwent fillers and lasering. My results are amazing. I was very fearful of surgery and was glad to hear that there was another option. The results exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 9th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan is always on time and follows up. He truly cares about what you are going through. He does amazing work!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 August 27th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

I am very happy with the results. Dr. Chan treated me very well from start to finish, clearly explaining things every step of the way. Surgery was way better than I expected, and surgical staff made me feel very comfortable and cared for. I would recommend Dr. Chan to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 6th, 2014
Facelift results exceeded my expectations
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

The results of my facelift exceeded my expectations. It is a good thing because I am a perfectionist. It looks like I am about 10 years younger, but does not look like I had any surgical procedure. Dr. Chan and the entire staff were very responsive and supportive when I did have questions or concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 11th, 2013
Definitely made the right choice!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Love Dr. Chan and his entire staff. They are incredibly warm, friendly, knowledgable and most importantly his work is absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 June 2nd, 2016
Rhinoplasty
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Had a rhinoplasty with Dr. Chan 6 months ago. I found Dr. Chan after extensive searching and finally decided to have him do my surgery. He is very approachable, and straightforward. He advised me on several changes to my nose that I initially thought I wanted, but in the end decided not to have. Also he made several recommendations that I really liked. We met several times before I had surgery and each time, I felt like he was trully trying to help me rather than convince me to have surgery. I just felt so comfortable with the process. Now that I have had the surgery I cannot tell you how happy I am that I did it, and trully grateful that I chose Dr. Chan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 23rd, 2015
Lump in my neck
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was scared when I had to see Dr. Chan with a lump in my neck. I was afraid and almost certain I had cancer. Dr. Chan reassured me and was very professional. He did not sugarcoat everything but also did not scare me either. He has a great personality and communicated the information in a calm and caring way. I had a biopsy of my neck mass and the results was NOT CANCER! I cannot thank Dr. Chan enough for making what was a scary situation tolerable. I barely have a scar on my neck, he is a plastic surgeon after all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 16th, 2015
No regrets-- love my facelift!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like to think of myself as a careful, considerate and informed consumer. With that said I did my research on Dr. Chan and chose him. Not only does he have a great reputation but he is also a kind, smart and detailed physician. This is a rare quality in a plastic surgeon. I never regretted my decision to go with Dr. Chan and highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 May 6th, 2015
The way healthcare should be
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Chan because I was having reoccurring sinus infections. After switching me to stronger anitbiotics, I finally got better. His office is very professional and they provide all the services in one location. He has a scope that he put in nose to evaluate the inside. I also had my CT scan, and hearing test all on the same day. I very much enjoyed going to his office-- they did not make me wait, and even sent me paperwork ahead of time. This is what healthcare should be like.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 27th, 2015
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor and staff are very nice, they make you feel very comfortable and welcome. Dr. Chan really listens to your concerns and talks you through them. He makes sure you understand where you are and what is happening through the whole process.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 February 7th, 2015
Amazing skin
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had a nice consult with Dr. Chan and his assistant Yvonne. They explained everything clearly. The whole office is really nice and friendly. I scheduled a laser procedure. On the day of the procedure, I was very nervous but the staff put me at ease. After receiving injections to numb my face (this hurt), I had the laser treatement (this was painless). I returned after 2 weeks and my skin looks great. I feel like I have the same skin I had 30 years ago (I am 62)! Thanks Dr. Chan!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 29th, 2015
Awesome experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Kind and knowledgeable. Excellent bedside manner. Was scared of surgery but Dr. Chan and his staff put me at ease. Recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 November 19th, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best experience ever! I would not let anyone else touch my face! Dr. Chan is superb and has a great personality. Highly recommended, a definite 10!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 25th, 2014
Dr. Chan was very accurate and professional, as well as his staff. I am very pleased with my experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 24th, 2014
A true specialist in Facial Plastic Surgery!
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 July 4th, 2016
As a breast cancer survivor who had bilateral mastectomies with multiple attempts at reconstruction, I have seen way more plastic surgeons than I ever wanted. Dr. Chan is outstanding.Not only are his clinical and surgical skills (read: results) over the top, check out where he went to school and did his residency. Dr. Chan has also done reconstructive work on Iraqi vets. He did procedures for friends of mine and they looked so beautiful. His bedside manner is what you rarely see, even with good surgeons. He is humble, patient, and brilliantly unassuming. I never felt rushed or like I was in a "plastic surgery mill". He only does head and neck so is very specialized. As a medical professional myself, I know this means you just get better and better. Any questions I had before or after procedures were met with true concern. He gave me his cell phone number to call day or night if I had a question! This is my guy. I will never use another plastic surgeon in Oregon unless it is for something other than head and neck; even then I would only go to someone Dr. Chan recommended. Bottom line, yesterday I ran into an old friend who said, ""Wow! You look 10....no, 20 years younger!"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 6th, 2016
Sinus surgery
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

Recently had sinus surgery with Dr. Chan and was the best experience. This is my 3rd surgery and by far the easiest recovery. I was able to breathe right away. I have seen him a few times after and so far so good. I plan to get allergy tested with Dr. Chan because I feel that is the main reason I keep getting infections. I highly recommend Dr. Chan and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 24th, 2015
Good job
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

General Comments

No complaints. Great service.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 October 6th, 2015
Good experience
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan is a really good doctor. Great at explaining complex information.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 16th, 2015
Great doctor
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Chan by the Emergency room for my broken nose. I was able to get an appointment the same week and his office was very pleasant to work with. Dr. Chan is very thorough, and explained everything in a very clear way. I had my nose repaired the next week, and felt great afterwards. Dr. Chan called me the next day himselft to check on me. Overall a great experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 January 21st, 2015
Rhinoplasty
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had trouble breathing through my nose for many years. I have had several nasal fractures and last year was involved in a car accident. I finally got insurance and decided to have Dr. Chan look at my nose. As I suspected, I had a deviated septum. Dr. Chan also explained to me that my cartilage had collapsed and was contributing to my breathing problems and also making my nose look crooked. I had surgery to fix my deviated septum and to repair the collapsed cartilage on the side of my nose. I am now 2 months after surgery and I breathe so much better. My nose also looks straighter although it's not perfect-- I guess I cannot expect it to be perfect after all the trauma I have put my nose through. Nevertheless, I am happier now than before my surgery. I can breathe so much better and my nose is 90 percent better in terms of how it looks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 December 9th, 2014
nasal reconstruction after cancer
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came to see Dr. Chan upon the recommendation of my dermatologist. I was diagnosed with melanoma on my nose, and was planning on having MOHs surgery. I wanted a plastic surgeon to help repair my nose so I was referred to Dr. Chan. I have been through a lot-- I have had breast cancer, and intestinal polyps (some cancerous) so I have seen many doctors. I have to say Dr. Chan stands out among all of them because he is so caring and kind. I was really scared about how my nose would look but with Dr. Chan's help, he took me through the process. My surgery turned out great-- I had to have a forehead flap (looked terrible for about 3 weeks). Once I healed, I look almost normal again. I would trust any surgery on my face to Dr. Chan but especially any complex reconstructive work because he is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 March 21st, 2014
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Everything went as the doctor and staff indicated. Doctor Chan is very reassuring and extremely competent in all aspects of the surgery and treatments. My friends cannot believe what a wonderful job he did.. My hairdresser has started recommending him. She said it is the best work she has seen. I would do it again if I had to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5.0 September 14th, 2013
Rhinoplasty
Would you recomend this provider
yes
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Positive Comments

Broke my nose playing basketball. Dr. Chan helped fix my nose and now I can breathe better and it is much straighter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No